Editor's Rating

Kickass level

New album for Mogwai, the english band from Glasgow and pioneers of the instrumental-post-rock music, released on the 25th of February 2013.

For my big disappointment the album is actually a soundtrack for the french TV series “Les Revenants”, which is about… zombies! Right. So, no wonder why the music wrote for this album doesn’t make you want to dance in the sun. I know, Mogwai are never about “dancing in the sun” anyway, but this record sounds like it’s actually made “for” zombies, rather than being “about” zombies.

The record is much more gloomy and minimalist than the typical Mogwai’s, but apparently the people from the TV series asked the band to write the soundtrack, so this work could be basically considered an assignment, and if the requirements were to make you want to kill yourself – just in order to get really into the series – than the band pretty much accomplished the task.

Not to diminish their work, as it was surely intended to be extremely sober in order to be played as a musical support for the images, rather than for listening, but for me the only song that would deserve to be included in one of my Mogwai playlists is Special N. Two others that are somehow worth listening from the beginning to the end are Eagle Tax and maybe Portugal. For the rest of it, well, have a listen and do it at your own risk.

With that said, I should just add that I appreciate Mogwai very much, as they got a lot of great music in their repertory, and I will look forward for their next “real” album, as I always do.

Here’s the tracklist for Les Revenants:

  1. Hungry Face
  2. Jaguar
  3. The Huts
  4. Kill Jester
  5. This Messiah Needs Watching
  6. Whisky Time
  7. Special N
  8. Relative Hysteria
  9. Fridge Magic
  10. Portugal
  11. Eagle Tax
  12. Modern
  13. What Are They Doing In Heaven Today?
  14. Wizard Motor

Related links: