Editor's Rating

Kickas level

Daft Punk‘s new release was officially out last week, and it’s entitled Random Access Memories. The album is a very interesting blend of beautiful electronica, funky elements, and disco sound.

I totally love the opening song, Give Life Back To Music, with its scenic and blasting intro (used also 2 more times as a breaking intermezzo during the song). It got a great retro feeling that sets my mood on a pleasant level. But the one that stands out is Get Lucky, which is without a doubt to become a huge hit, as it got the perfect vibe and and a memorable catchy chorus that will make the song to be played by many DJ’s for quiet a while.

Lose Yourself To Dance is another one that fits great with the two songs I’ve just mentioned, because of its rhythm and feeling. But Random Access Memories is far from being a full upbeat record. Songs like The Game Of Love , Within, and Motherboard reveal some quieter vibes, and Fragments Of Time is a beautiful and sweet kind of funky ballad. Beyond is also very nice, and it got an intro that totally un-matches the rest of the song.

I’d like to hear a version of Giorgio By Moroder without the talking interview track in it, because I love the song, but I know that I’ll get enough of the voice-over after a few listenings.

The last song, Contact is surprisingly aggressive in relation with the rest of the songs, and it feautures some great drums and keys.

All in all, this album is the kind of work that gets people to talk about it and that makes some fuzz for sure. And personally, I’ve already included some songs of it in my music collections for party times, or that kind of stuff that gets people together.

Here’s the tracklist for Random Access Memories:

  1. Give Life Back To Music
  2. The Game of Love
  3. Giorgio by Moroder
  4. Within
  5. Instant Crush
  6. Lose Yourself To Dance
  7. Touch
  8. Get Lucky
  9. Beyond
  10. Motherboard
  11. Fragments of Time
  12. Doin’ It Right
  13. Contact

Related links: